Our Client Reviews

 

04/11/2017 – WELMOED SISSON

We were amazed at the attention to detail  everyone put into the sale at our house. They photographed and made videos, marketed the sale widely, and did a lot of research into some of the items we were selling. It turned out that some of the pieces we had were actually worth a lot more than we ever dreamed! While we did not go to the house on the days of the sale, we did stop in the day before and were impressed with the extent of the preparation they put in. There were signs everywhere, and they did everything they could to protect the property. One thing that really impressed me was that they told me they had contacted the local police to arrange for some extra patrols near the property, since it could be a tempting target. They were very honest about how they would conduct the sale, and did not try to overinflate the potential sale proceeds. They were quick with follow-up and prompt with payment. Thanks to them, we were able to get a fresh start in our new home.

Description of work:

We hired Laurie and Steve to conduct an estate sale in our home to dispose of household goods from our downsizing.

  • Category: Auction Services
  • Services Performed: Yes
  • Work Completed Date: 03/10/2017
  • Hire Again: Yes
WELMOED SISSON
18505 Crossview Rd.
Boyds, MD 20841

Service Provider Response:

Edit

It was our pleasure to help your relocation along, and we will consider this to be a landmark sale for EstateMax for a long time! It was such a wonderful place with your and [Member Name Removed]’s great taste in furnishings it was fun! Stay in touch, you two. And thx for being our partners throughout the process.

 

12/12/2016 – Peter Sokowski

The Estate paid EstateMAX a minimum retainer of $3500 to conduct the entire sale. A bonus
commission of $900 was earned by EstateMax based on final sales, over and above $10000. Well worth
the dollars spent. Pleased with the outcome and results of the on site Estate Sale. The net at site is very much acceptable. I didn’t contract for Bulk to be removed – but what was left was manageable and what was expected, after items taken to consignment. The property was left in order and neat and EXCEPTIONALLY pleased with this! Awaiting positive results of what failed to sell at site, and is now in consignment. Am pleased with online marketing as well. The Frederick location shop reflected the big items taken to consignment. This Co really hustled. One does not see that too often. Laurie and Steve worked tirelessly. This particular Estate Sale was no easy task – as I have been involved in several. Initially, I had another Co in line to complete this effort, though after the Family removing some 30,000 books, the initial co backed out. Laurie and Steve jumped right on and took on the job, with no hesitation.

  • Category: Furniture – Sales, Auction Services
  • Services Performed: Yes
  • Cost: $3500
3320 Gumwood Dr
Hyattsville, MD 20783

Service Provider Response:

Edit

Hi [Member Name Removed], Thank you for the great review! Your mom’s home was full of interesting items and treasures that the shopping public really seemed to appreciate! Will be in touch in the next few months with consignment sales. Happy HOlidays!

Read More

A

11/07/2016 – Maureen Carr

Very well! Laurie Zook and her partner, Steve Berryman, consulted with us and explained their
services. We set a date for the Estate Sale. A few days before, they came to the house after we had
moved and began sorting and pricing an assortment of furniture, art, jewelry, knick knacks — you name it. After the sale, what was left was removed to their consignment shop or charities. They did all the work, which was great, and were always very responsive to my questions. Never could have done this without their assistance.

  • Category: Moving, Appraisals – Antiques/Jewelry/Items, Furniture – Sales, Auction Services, Home Staging
  • Services Performed: Yes
10301 Grosvenor Pl #1207
Rockville, MD 20852

Service Provider Response:

Edit

Thank you [Member Name Removed] appreciate your business your trust and your kind review thank you

Read More

A

10/19/2016 – Douglas Griffin

They performed as promised. They estimated that my mother’s possessions should yield
somewhere in the $9000 range. They did everything! We simply had to pack what possessions my
mother wanted and leave the key. They did everything else to prepare the house for the 3-day estate sale then remove all the belongings that didn’t sell to their consignment shop. After the sale was completed my mother received a check for almost $10,000. Possessions in the consignment shop COULD yield even more. She was so delighted! EstateMAX could well have saved my mother’s life since she didn’t have to deal with any of the stress related to packing and disposing of all the stuff.

  • Category: Moving, Appraisals – Antiques/Jewelry/Items, Furniture – Sales, Auction Services, Home Staging
  • Services Performed: Yes
  • Cost: $3500
2603 Bear Den Rd
Frederick, MD 21701

Service Provider Response:

Edit

Hi [Member Name Removed], Thank you for the wonderful review! The sale was a lot of fun! Your mom owned very nice things and the neighborhood was supportive of the event. Please let us know if you need our help in the future and we will make ourselves available. Laurie and Steve.

Read More

A

10/07/2016 – Linda Benvenuto

The process went smoothly, in stages. Being so far away, I could completely relax knowing they
were sensitive to my belongings. They also handled mailing items to me and storing others till I return.
Couldn’t be more pleased with their service. They handled all the moving arrangements, storage, mailing, etc. Great.

  • Category: Moving, Furniture – Sales, Auction Services
  • Services Performed: Yes
5158 34th St NW
Washington, DC 20008

Service Provider Response:

Edit

Hi [Member Name Removed], I’m very happy you asked me to help you with this project. It was great to work with [Member Name Removed] in this transition. Your stuff is at O.P.S. Other People’s Stuff now, and the inventory is forthcoming.

Read More

A

08/27/2016 – Sharon Ferlaino

Successful sale

  • Category: Auction Services
  • Services Performed: Yes
  • Cost: $4000
43773 Paramount Place
Chantilly, VA 20152

Respond to this review!

Respond

Read More

A

08/23/2016 – Russ & Judy Mushro

The Estate Max team was truly professional from the beginning of the process of the estate sale to
the end. They were on time for every appointment or scheduled home visit. Phone calls, text messages
and emails were answered promptly. They did exactly what they had said they were going to do ! ! ! Estate Max advertising and marketing of our furnishings was superb. The video presentation was fantastic. Their experience in this business gave us the confidence that they would reach the most potential buyers and we would get the most money from the sale. After the sale we received our proceeds in a prompt manner and was given an account of all sold items. We would not hesitate to recommend Laurie and the Estate Max team.

  • Category: Auction Services
  • Services Performed: Yes
  • Cost: $3500
31 Wedgefield Blvd
Ocean View, DE 19970

Respond to this review!

Respond

Read More

A

05/18/2016 – Betsy McMahan

Laurie was committed to selling this car for us. So much so, it was towed to her home and sat in her
driveway for two months saving us on storage fees. There were at least 8 qualified buyers who
ultimately had price and condition objections to a purchase. In the end, they wanted a “cherry” that needed little or no work, and they wanted to buy at a below market price. Unless a 1958 vehicle has been reconditioned and restored (and has the price tag to match) it’s not likely to be in perfect condition. How many 60 year olds do you know that are in perfect shape?? By the time the interested buyer was located, Laurie had practically become a mechanical expert on our Rolls. She had also prioritized selling our car over many of her other duties and responsibilities. Ultimately, she found a buyer from Chicago who flew into BWI to take a look. Laurie even picked him up from the airport! Selling our Rolls Royce was an amazing effort in persistence on Laurie’s part. Though we were a bit disappointed in the final sales price, it wasn’t for lack of effort on Laurie’s part. The market isn’t what it was when the car was purchased.

  • Category: Auction Services
  • Services Performed: Yes
  • Cost: $2250
93 Monocacy Blvd
A 6
Frederick, MD 21701

Respond to this review!

Respond

Read More

A

04/07/2016 – Betsy McMahan

We tried auctioning some of our treasures off in the past and had been very disappointed with the
results. All in all, the weekend was a success. If you have a house full of items you need to liquidate, I
feel Laurie’s services will allow you to get the most for your stuff – definitely more than other options like auctions, yard sales and flea markets. Her pricing seems fair to the buyer and seller. And, if an item remains on the final day, the buyer gets a nice discount which inspires last minute sales so fewer items remain at the end. What happens to what’s left over? Laurie manages a warehouse where items go for a second chance to be sold. That’s a wonderful option because sometimes what’s left after an estate sale is just too good to give to Good Will or another charity but it must go somewhere because you have to vacate your home. Laurie also went above and beyond helping with some specific challenges which were unique to our sale. She and her staff helped make a very stressful time in our lives easier to handle. A few big items were sold before the weekend of the estate sale and, even though she didn’t have to, Laurie helped support us so we had extra funds available to pay our own personal movers. After the sale, our final check was lost by the post office. (It went on a very long trip around the east coast.) Laurie worked h****** our behalf with the post office and the bank until the issue was resolved. We recommend her services highly.

  • Category: Furniture – Sales, Auction Services
  • Services Performed: Yes
  • Cost: $3500
PO Box 423
Lutherville, MD 21094

Respond to this review!

Respond

Read More

https://googleads.g.doubleclick.net/pagead/viewthroughconversion/1044277379/?random=1493058099222&cv=8&fst=1493058099222&num=1&fmt=1&guid=ON&u_h=768&u_w=1280&u_ah=728&u_aw=1280&u_cd=24&u_his=5&u_tz=-240&u_java=false&u_nplug=4&u_nmime=5&frm=0&url=https%3A%2F%2Foffice.angieslist.com%2Fstore%2F6178018%2Freviews&ref=https%3A%2F%2Foffice.angieslist.com%2F&tiba=Business%20Center%20-%20Store