Our Client Reviews

 

EstateMax & Mission Transition

Angie’s List Certified
5 Years on Angie’s List

All | Grade A+ 8 more categories

29 Reviews in:All 

Summary Graph

A

All
29 reviews
Grade Details
Price
A
Quality
A
Responsiveness
A
Punctuality
A
Professionalism
A

12/12/2016 – Peter Sokowski

The Estate paid EstateMAX a minimum retainer of $3500 to conduct the entire sale. A bonus
commission of $900 was earned by EstateMax based on final sales, over and above $10000. Well worth
the dollars spent. Pleased with the outcome and results of the on site Estate Sale. The net at site is very much acceptable. I didn’t contract for Bulk to be removed – but what was left was manageable and what was expected, after items taken to consignment. The property was left in order and neat and EXCEPTIONALLY pleased with this! Awaiting positive results of what failed to sell at site, and is now in consignment. Am pleased with online marketing as well. The Frederick location shop reflected the big items taken to consignment. This Co really hustled. One does not see that too often. Laurie and Steve worked tirelessly. This particular Estate Sale was no easy task – as I have been involved in several. Initially, I had another Co in line to complete this effort, though after the Family removing some 30,000 books, the initial co backed out. Laurie and Steve jumped right on and took on the job, with no hesitation.

  • Category: Furniture – Sales, Auction Services
  • Services Performed: Yes
  • Cost: $3500
3320 Gumwood Dr
Hyattsville, MD 20783

11/07/2016 – Maureen Carr

Very well! Laurie Zook and her partner, Steve Berryman, consulted with us and explained their
services. We set a date for the Estate Sale. A few days before, they came to the house after we had
moved and began sorting and pricing an assortment of furniture, art, jewelry, knick knacks — you name it. After the sale, what was left was removed to their consignment shop or charities. They did all the work, which was great, and were always very responsive to my questions. Never could have done this without their assistance.

  • Category: Moving, Appraisals – Antiques/Jewelry/Items, Furniture – Sales, Auction Services, Home Staging
  • Services Performed: Yes
10301 Grosvenor Pl #1207
Rockville, MD 2085

A

10/19/2016 – Douglas Griffin

They performed as promised. They estimated that my mother’s possessions should yield
somewhere in the $9000 range. They did everything! We simply had to pack what possessions my
mother wanted and leave the key. They did everything else to prepare the house for the 3-day estate sale then remove all the belongings that didn’t sell to their consignment shop. After the sale was completed my mother received a check for almost $10,000. Possessions in the consignment shop COULD yield even more. She was so delighted! EstateMAX could well have saved my mother’s life since she didn’t have to deal with any of the stress related to packing and disposing of all the stuff.

  • Category: Moving, Appraisals – Antiques/Jewelry/Items, Furniture – Sales, Auction Services, Home Staging
  • Services Performed: Yes
  • Cost: $3500
2603 Bear Den Rd
Frederick, MD 21701
10/07/2016 – Linda Benvenuto

The process went smoothly, in stages. Being so far away, I could completely relax knowing they
were sensitive to my belongings. They also handled mailing items to me and storing others till I return.
Couldn’t be more pleased with their service. They handled all the moving arrangements, storage, mailing, etc. Great.

  • Category: Moving, Furniture – Sales, Auction Services
  • Services Performed: Yes
5158 34th St NW
Washington, DC 20008
08/27/2016 – Sharon Ferlaino

Successful sale

  • Category: Auction Services
  • Services Performed: Yes
  • Cost: $4000
43773 Paramount Place
Chantilly, VA 20152
08/23/2016 – Russ & Judy Mushro

The Estate Max team was truly professional from the beginning of the process of the estate sale to
the end. They were on time for every appointment or scheduled home visit. Phone calls, text messages
and emails were answered promptly. They did exactly what they had said they were going to do ! ! ! Estate Max advertising and marketing of our furnishings was superb. The video presentation was fantastic. Their experience in this business gave us the confidence that they would reach the most potential buyers and we would get the most money from the sale. After the sale we received our proceeds in a prompt manner and was given an account of all sold items. We would not hesitate to recommend Laurie and the Estate Max team.

  • Category: Auction Services
  • Services Performed: Yes
  • Cost: $3500
31 Wedgefield Blvd
Ocean View, DE 19970

05/18/2016 – Betsy McMahan

Laurie was committed to selling this car for us. So much so, it was towed to her home and sat in her
driveway for two months saving us on storage fees. There were at least 8 qualified buyers who
ultimately had price and condition objections to a purchase. In the end, they wanted a “cherry” that needed little or no work, and they wanted to buy at a below market price. Unless a 1958 vehicle has been reconditioned and restored (and has the price tag to match) it’s not likely to be in perfect condition. How many 60 year olds do you know that are in perfect shape?? By the time the interested buyer was located, Laurie had practically become a mechanical expert on our Rolls. She had also prioritized selling our car over many of her other duties and responsibilities. Ultimately, she found a buyer from Chicago who flew into BWI to take a look. Laurie even picked him up from the airport! Selling our Rolls Royce was an amazing effort in persistence on Laurie’s part. Though we were a bit disappointed in the final sales price, it wasn’t for lack of effort on Laurie’s part. The market isn’t what it was when the car was purchased.

  • Category: Auction Services
  • Services Performed: Yes
  • Cost: $2250
93 Monocacy Blvd
A 6
Frederick, MD 21701

04/07/2016 – Betsy McMahan

We tried auctioning some of our treasures off in the past and had been very disappointed with the
results. All in all, the weekend was a success. If you have a house full of items you need to liquidate, I
feel Laurie’s services will allow you to get the most for your stuff – definitely more than other options like auctions, yard sales and flea markets. Her pricing seems fair to the buyer and seller. And, if an item remains on the final day, the buyer gets a nice discount which inspires last minute sales so fewer items remain at the end. What happens to what’s left over? Laurie manages a warehouse where items go for a second chance to be sold. That’s a wonderful option because sometimes what’s left after an estate sale is just too good to give to Good Will or another charity but it must go somewhere because you have to vacate your home. Laurie also went above and beyond helping with some specific challenges which were unique to our sale. She and her staff helped make a very stressful time in our lives easier to handle. A few big items were sold before the weekend of the estate sale and, even though she didn’t have to, Laurie helped support us so we had extra funds available to pay our own personal movers. After the sale, our final check was lost by the post office. (It went on a very long trip around the east coast.) Laurie worked h****** our behalf with the post office and the bank until the issue was resolved. We recommend her services highly.

  • Category: Furniture – Sales, Auction Services
  • Services Performed: Yes
  • Cost: $3500
PO Box 423
Lutherville, MD 21094
03/31/2016 – Richard Culp

The process has been very smooth. We paid about $800 in upfront fees to cover the move and
initial inventory. We receive 50% of the consignment sale. Thus far, we have received about $380. This
was a major life transition for my mother and our family. We spent a great amount of prep time to prepare for the transition, distributing items to family members and disposing of clearly unusable items. EstateMax has been a one-stop solution to clearing the condo. They very efficiently provided moving services and they are taking care of the consignment sale at their site. This allowed us to move quickly to prepare the condo for sale. (We did not want to have an on-site sale because of the logistics involved.)

  • Category: Moving, Auction Services, Home Staging
  • Services Performed: Yes
  • Cost: $800
4817 Bayard Blvd
Bethesda, MD 20816

Service Provider Response:

 

10/15/2015 – Marie V Melchiori

Laurie and Steve did what they said they would do. Items that were not sold were left in the house
and they did not need to clean it out since it was a knock down. There are still items at their
consignment shop and I just received a small check via PayPal.

  • Category: Moving, Auction Services
  • Services Performed: Yes
  • Cost: $3500
19350 Magnolia Grove Square Unit 409
Lansdowne, VA 20176-8492

Service Provider Response:

Edit

[member name removed], Thank you for your trust. Your house was chock full of great smalls and some nice vintage and antique furniture. We moved as much as possible over the three days. Your consignment items are at O.P.S.MY consignment warehouse in Frederick Md. It’s a liquidation center where everything is sold at 50% and 75% off the estate sale tagged prices.

Read More